Review of Vow of Deception - Decpetion Trilogy

Review of Vow of Deception

Vow of Deception is a Mafia romance or what people are now calling a dark romance. It’s the first book in the Deception Trilogy by Rina Kent.

Review of Vow of Deception

Before we get started, let me just give you a big fat #SpoilerAlert

The most notorious man in the city offers me a job. Act as his dead wife. Adrian Volkov isn’t the type of person who takes no for an answer. He commands with an iron fist and all his orders are met. When he approaches me with the offer, I have two options. Go to prison or put myself under his wrath. I choose to have a roof over my head. What’s so hard about acting, right? Wrong. The moment I step into his wife’s shoes, everything spirals out of control. My only way of survival is through Adrian. Or is it?

I’m absolutely not a fan of books that end on a cliffhanger but since I knew going into it, that this book was part one of a trilogy and that you needed to read all three books in the story to get the big picture, I was okay with it. The Deception Trilogy starts out with Vow of Deception, which leads to Tempted by Deception, and ends with Consumed by Deception.

I’m not even sure why I decided to read this series. Not only do I not like cliffhangers but I’m also not a fan of mafia or dark romances. This story however has to be the exception to the rule. I was blown away.

Adrian is a high-ranking member of the Russian mafia. In the first book, you meet a girl by the name of Winter, who is a near-identical twin to Adrian’s dead wife Lia.

She’s homeless and agrees to take on a job playing the role of his dead wife. Throughout the first book Winter struggles with her feelings for this man, who by all accounts is a vicious brute.

Still, she absolutely lusts after him and can’t help her body’s reaction to him.

Again >> #SpoilerAlert

As the first book in the series comes to an end, Winter finds out that Lia isn’t dead. She finds her in a coma hidden in a private room in Adrian’s mansion.

This leads us to the next book, where we sort of go back in time and find out how Adrian meets his real wife, Lia. She as it turns out was a ballerina, working for the New York Ballerina.

You learn about their love life and how it all began. The story is complicated and sweet. I mean yes he’s an obsessive ass, but it’s clear he absolutely loves her.

I mean he’s still a jerk, but you really see him in a whole new light compared to the first book.

You learn about Lia, and how their kid and how they got together, all the little details of their relationship, and really how absolutely obsessed with his wife he is.

This all leads up to book three, the big reveal and I don’t want to reveal what that big WOW moment is, but I must say, I was rather impressed with how the author brought it all together.

It was a good story from start to finish but one you really have to read all three books to truly enjoy.

Vow of Deception is now available at Amazon as an ebook or via Audible.

I highly recommend it.



Review of Vow of Deception

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top